Board of Directors


It gives us great pleasure to present our 2017-2018 Board of Directors.  We thank them for giving generously of their time and resources to better serve the Jewish community of Central Kentucky and for helping the Federation to achieve its mission.


Executive Committee

Evalyn Block, President

Evalyn Block has been employed by the Fayette County School system since 2001 when she relocated from South Florida to Lexington. She taught five years as a Special Education teacher at Lexington Traditional Magnet School before becoming a Para Educator at the school with the PASS (Positive Approach to Student Success) Program. The program deals with behavioral issues of Special Needs students. Prior to moving to Lexington, Evalyn worked for the Florida Department of Corrections in Probation and Parole Services for twenty-five years. She has a Bachelor of Science in Psychology from the University of South Florida and an endorsement in Special Education from Eastern Kentucky University. She is a member of the Lexington Chapter of Hadassah and has held various positions with that organization including President and VP of Education. Evalyn is currently the Chapter’s VP of Programing and she is also a member of Temple Adath Israel. Evalyn is married to Garry Hoover, Manager of Financial Systems at Fayette County Public Schools.  Contact Evalyn >>




Amy Faust Mayer, At-Large

Amy Faust Mayer is originally from Cincinnati Ohio. Amy completed her undergraduate studies at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio and she received her masters in Education at the University of Cincinnati. She worked  in the Family Life Education Center of the Jewish Family Services in Cincinnati and she was a member of the faculty of the Cincinnati Reform Jewish High School for over six years. Amy currently lives in Lexington, Kentucky and teaches upper elementary at Community Montessori School. She teaches Jewish theater at her synagogue and is a member of the advisory committee of Jewish Family Services in Lexington. Contact Amy >>







Gayle Bourne, Secretary







Contact Gayle >>






Dianne Bazell, Treasurer







Contact Dianne >>



Ken Slepyan, At-Large





 Contact Ken >>

  • Annual Meeting

    Join us at our next Annual Meeting to meet our Board, hear changes and accomplishments from the past year, learn about new programs for the coming year, and show your support and thanks for exemplary volunteers as they receive recognition from our board.

Board of Directors

Gail Cohen (The Lexington Havurah)

Alison Courant (Ohavay Zion Synagogue)

Lorne Dechtenberg (At Large)

Erin Fulton (At Large)

Debi Gall (Ohavay Zion Synagogue)

Erin Gold (Lexington Chapter of Hadassah)

Joseph (Mickey) Hernandez (Temple Adath Israel)

Linda Ravvin (At Large)

Hanna Smith (Ohavay Zion Synagogue)

Bruce Broudy (B'nai B'rith)

Judy Worell (At Large)

Past Presidents


Charles Gorodetzky, 1977-1979

*David Wekstein, 1979-1981

*Judy Levine, 1981-1983

Jack Miller, 1983-1985

*Gloria Katz, 1985-1987

Gail Cohen, 1987-1989

Michael Ades, 1989-1991

Judy Saxe, 1991-1993

Elisabeth Goldman, 1993-1995

*Tomas Milch, 1995-1997

*Evelyn Dantzic Geller, 1997-1999

*Marty Barr, 1999-2001

Stanley Saxe, 2001-2003

David Feinberg, 2003-2005

*Marty Barr, 2005-2007

Linda Ravvin, 2007-2011

Robert Grossman, 2011-2013

Mike Grossman, 2013-2016


* Of Blessed Memory